Header Banner

Tatra Mountains climbing regulations

The following rules apply for all climbers in all parts of TANAP (Tatra National Park) in both Slovakia and Poland.

1. Only people who are members of a National UIAA Club are allowed to climb in the TANAP.

2. Climbers are allowed to enter the climbing areas only with the purpose of climbing on the routes with grade higher than UIAA II, on condition that they use the least dangerous way to reach the wall base and obey the nature protection laws. Routes with a grade of less than UIAA I and UIAA II or below, can be used only during the summer and only for descent.

3. All climbers are obliged to possess an ID from their club with them at all times. Foreign climbers are also required to posses their passports.

4. Only the licensed climbing instructors (Local UIAGM Guides) are entitled to climb with a person who is not a member of a UIAA Club. (Special permission can be granted by TANAP headquarters to allow non climbers access.)

5. Camping outside the huts/shelters is not allowed. In exceptional cases it is allowed to set a bivouac during the expedition with prior permission form TANP headquarters. Only true emergency bivouacs are allowed and all are to be reported and are subject to summary investigation. There is the camping area at Polana pod Wysoka clearing in Dolina Bialej Wody valley that is reserved for climbers only.

6. Climbers are obliged to leave a message where and which route they plan to climb. It should be written in the Exit Book/Trail Register in the hut, base camp where the climb originates. After a lapse of 6 hours from the planned return time is reached the alarm is raised and Rescue Service starts a rescue operation. When an organized group is involved, after the alarm time, the group leader is obliged to start the rescue with the other group members.

7. During the time when the trails are closed for the other users, from 1 November to 30 June, climbers can use those trails to reach the wall base. They can also ski to ease the ascent but only for the purpose of climbing, not to perform the ski-alpinism.

The following areas are closed to climbing and tourism, except the marked trails leading through them:

1. The whole Bielskie Tatry, except the trail from Monkowa valley to Szeroka Przelecz Bielska pass

2. Kolowa valley with all nearby cirques and walls, also a part of Czarna Jaworowa valley with the southern border along Czarny Potok creek and the crest of Sniezne Turnie

3. Huncowska Kotlinka basin with south - eastern part of Rakuska Czuba peak

4. Szeroka Jaworzynska massif to Zabi Jaworowy Wierch, Dolina Rowienek, Swistowa valley, upper part of Biala Woda valley and the whole crest of Mlynarz including Zabia Bialczanska valley (the southern border of that area is a line: Zabi Szczyt Wyzni peak - lake Ciezki Staw - Kacza Siklawa fall - lake Litworowy Staw - Rohatka pass); Climbers and entitled Tatry guides can ascend to Ciezka valley on the unmarked trail along the creek Ciezki Potok.

5. Stawkowska valley with its rocky walls up to Granaty Wielickie peaks inclusively. The ascent on the peaks of Granaty Wielickie is closed to climbers and guides.

6. Stwolska valley, bordered from North by the crest of Tepa - Konczysta peaks and from South by Magistrala Tatrzanska trail.

7. The area of Krywan peak with the adjacent crests and valleys, such as Niewcyrka valley, Krywanskie Koryto, Szkaradny Zleb gully, Walecka valley; the north-eastern border is the crest of Hruby peak, and the eastern border is formed by the crest from the saddle to Ostra peak.

8. Tatry Zachodnie (Western Tatry) - except the winter route along the main crest of Tatry from 21 December to 21 March, which must be reported to TANAP Tatry Zachodnie - South or North, climbing activity is forbidden with an exception of training rocks meant for research purposes in the nature reserves.

Areas that are out of bounds even with a guide:
The Javorinska Siroka mountain to Zabi vrch, Javorovy vrch, the Rovienky and Svistova valleys, the mouth of the Bielovodska valley and the Mlynar mountain including the Zaba valley. The southern border of this area is described by the line from the Velky Zabi peak, the tarn Ceske pleso, the Hviezdoslav waterfall, the tarn Litvorove pleso and Prielom.